Standardized Testing

Standardized tests are administered to students in 3rd-11th grade. Standardized tests only give a glimpse into the knowledge and test skills of the students.  While BCS students score well on standardized tests in comparison with public and private schools, our curriculum at Bayshore is best measured by the fruit produced in our graduates.

3rd-6th Grade – Comprehensive Testing Program

The purpose of the Comprehensive Testing Program (CTP) is to assess student growth and performance at the time of testing. This enables the school to identify strengths and weaknesses at an individual and group level. CTP is considered a “low stakes” assessment, intended to help teachers and administrators make decisions about curriculum and classroom instruction.  CTP is designed to assess what students know—not their ability to identify the probable right answer. Used in this way, the CTP serves as a diagnostic tool and helps yield reliable results.

7th-11th Grade – PSAT/NMSQT

The PSAT/NMSQT is the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. PSAT scores are used to identify National Merit Scholars and award merit scholarships, but cannot be used for College Applications. This test occurs in October each year.

10th-12th Grade – College Board Exams

College Board Exams, such as the SAT, ACT, and the CLT(Classical Learning Test) are necessary for the college admissions process.  Students register independently for these tests.

BCS News